The R-UTN Welcomes 2018 Retirees

We congratulate all the 2018 retirees and welcome you to the ranks of the Retired – United Teachers of Northport. We wish you a relaxing and enjoyable summer, and hope to see you at the Annual R-UTN Picnic on September 11 at the Vanderbilt Museum in Centerport.

Al Cicio
Debbie Culbert
JoAnn D’Abreu
Linda Dickman
Alecia Ernst
Ruth Gaines
Mindy Kurtzman
Janet Lambert
Diane  Lipari
Kevin McGinn
Jon Meyers
Mary Ann Murphy
Virginia Neill-Meade
Jayne Sandmann
Delores Scollan
George Searing
Don Sherman
Pauline Stasiuk
Joanne Sweeney
Claudia Tippett
Janet Zagaro

Congratulations to the New UTN Officers

The United Teachers of Northport will have a new slate of officers as of July 1. The R-UTN members send our congratulations and solidarity!

President Stacey Weisberg
Executive VP Carol Taylor
Elementary VP Pam DeFord
Secondary VP Kelly Lange
Secretary Allison Galofaro
Treasurer  Tammy Walsh
Secondary Teaching Assistance Annette Giglio
Elementary Teaching Assistant Linda Bogdanowich

R-UTN Scholarship Awards

Each year the Retired-United Teachers of Northport award scholarships to deserving Northport High School seniors. This year two scholarships were awarded at the Senior Awards Presentation on June 6 — Ryan Dee received the Memorial Scholarship for Academic Achievement and Alexa Molnar was awarded the Scholarship for Studies in Education. Two additional scholarships were awarded to Daniel Polay and Hannah Slagle, children of current in-service UTN members, at the United Teachers of Northport Retirement Party on June 8.

Ryan Dee, recipient of the Memorial Scholarship for Academic Achievement, is a talented musician and outstanding student leader. He is president of the Marching Band, a member of the Symphony Orchestra, the National Honor Society and is an IB and AP Outstanding student. Ryan plans to attend Syracuse University next fall.

Alexa Molnar was awarded the Scholarship for Studies in Education. All through high school Alexa has taken electives in the Early Education Program, working with children in the in-house nursery and pre-school programs. She is a member of the Future Educators of America (FEA) and the Bubby Club, which pairs members with special needs students. Alexa plans to attend The State University of New York at Oneonta next fall. 

Daniel Polay, a senior at Harborfields High School, is the son of Norwood Avenue teacher Jane Pastorelli-Capobianco. During his high school career he has received numerous academic honors, including a Gold Key Award, Scholar Athlete Award and underclass Business Award. He took part in the New York State DECA Competition and was DECA Suffolk County Finalist. He is both a student athlete and an artist. He has played several varsity sports, and is a member of the National Art Honor Society. Daniel plans to attend Elon University next fall.

Hannah Slagle a senior at Kings Park High School , is the daughter of Northport High School social studies teacher William Slagle. Her academic honors include National Honor Society, AP Scholar Award and the American Scholastic Press Association’s First Place Award.  She is also a member of the Marching Band, Kaleidescope Magazine, Student Environmental Action Society, and Unity Club. Hannah will be attending Suffolk County Community College in the fall.