Northport-East Northport Budget Passed

The school budget for the 2020 – 2021 school year passed by an overwhelming majority of the district voters, 5,241 to 1,545. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, all votes were cast by absentee ballot.

In the election for school board members, current Board President David Badanes won re-election, and Donna McNaughton was newly elected to the board.

2020 R-UTN Scholarship Winners

Each year, the R-UTN gives two scholarships  of $2,000 each to Northport seniors planning careers in Education.  The High School Awards Committee selects the recipients based on academic achievement and need.  We are able to do this because of the generous contributions of our members.  This year’s recipients are Lena Mannix and Bessie Antunez-Castellon.  The Awards were presented by video this year. 

In addition, we award four scholarships of $500 to the graduating children of in-service UTN members Ashley Durand of Port Jefferson, Victoria Gaudioso of Centerport, Aidan Fee of Northport and Allison Wine of Northport

Thanks again to all R-UTN members for your generosity.